West Virginia Operations


Few states in the nation have enjoyed a more potent or more senior delegation in Congress than West Virginia. Combined, the two senators and three representatives have served 107 years in the House and the Senate. This extraordinary length of service has placed the delegation in the upper ranks of power within the Democratic leadership.

West Virginia's senior senator, Robert C. Byrd (D), is steeped in history and the Constitution and is widely accepted as having no equal when it comes to the understanding of the institutions of our government.

West Virginia Capitol    
Jay Rockefeller (D), the state's junior senator, is the honorary chairman of the Chemical Alliance Zone and has been a long-time, active supporter of the chemical industry in the Kanawha Valley.

In 2001, Shelley Moore Capito (R) was elected to represent the 2nd congressional district of the U.S. House of Representatives. Throughout her four years in the state senate, Capito established her commitment to job creation and provided for the healthcare needs of West Virginians.

Nick J. Rahall, II was elected to the House of Representatives in 1976, since then, he has become a national leader in the area of transportation and infrastructure and serves on the House Resources Committee.

Alan Mollohan (D), was elected to the House of Representatives in 1982 where he is serving his ninth term. Mollohan is committed to economic development and the development of high technology. He is a member of the House Appropriations Committee.

The West Virginia Legislature is a bicameral body consisting of 134 members. The State Senate is comprised of 34 members who serve four-year terms, half of whom are elected every two years. There are two senators elected in each of 17 senatorial districts. The House of Delegates includes 100 members who serve two-year terms and are elected every two years. Delegates are elected in 56 districts.